Warning: session_start() [function.session-start]: open(/home/content/36/3968236/tmp/sess_idtb3vg6f3gcuu8ladep8p5u70, O_RDWR) failed: No such file or directory (2) in /home/content/36/3968236/html/wp-content/plugins/eshop/eshop.php on line 50
About Perry Chen | PerrysPreviews - Perry's Family Movie Reviews
Follow Perry:  Perry's Previews on YouTube  |  Perry's Previews on Twitter  |  Perry's Previews on Facebook  |  Perry's Previews on LinkedIn  || Sunday, September 24, 2017
Share |

About Perry Chen

Published on: 29th September, 2011


Perry S. Chen San Diego, CA, United States


Hello. Welcome to the official website of award-winning child film & entertainment critic, artist, speaker, animator and entertainment personality Perry S. Chen, featured on CBS Evening News, NPR, CNN, NBC, Variety, Oscar Night America, The Young Icons TV show, Amazing Kids!, The Guardian, The China Press and more: http://www.perryspreviews.com

Perry loved storytelling and art, and started reading at age one, drawing at three, illustrating self-made story books at four. In 2008, he started writing movie reviews at 8 using a kid-friendly starfish rating system, under the guidance of his mom Dr. Zhu Shen and his 3rd grade teacher Ms. Harris.  In 2010, he became the youngest animator, working with animation legend, twice-Oscar nominated Bill Plympton.

Perry Chen with his producer mom Dr. Zhu Shen & dad Dr. Changyou Chen at ShortsHD premiere of his animation short (photo by Liz Kelly)

Perry Chen presents his film at the ShortsHD at the Movies LA premiere (photo by Zhu Shen)

 

 

Perry’s newest animation film is as the sole animator of “Ingrid Pitt: Beyond the Forest,” a 6-min short about a young Jewish girl’s survival during the Holocaust based on the true story of the actress Ingrid Pitt’s childhood, directed by Kevin Sean Michaels, produced by Perry’s mom Dr. Zhu Shen, with storyboard and character design by Bill Plympton.  The animation short premiered to critical acclaim at Comic-Con and LA Shorts Fest in July 2011.  The film has been acquired for worldwide distribution by Shorts International, distributor of Oscar-nominated shorts and the world’s leading company for short movie entertainment with presence in 130 markets worldwide.  Shorts International hosted the Hollywood theatrical premiere of “Ingrid Pitt: Beyond the Forest” with other outstanding shorts in Sep 2011, press release:

http://www.perryspreviews.com/?p=3091

Perry Chen with "THe Parent's Guide to Raising CEO Kids" book (photo by Zhu Shen)

 



YouTube Preview Image

(movie trailer, featuring Perry, Bill Plympton, director Kevin Sean Michaels, co-producer Jud Newborn)

http://www.awn.com/blogs/perrys-previews/holocaust-through-eyes-child-animated-child

http://www.toonboom.com/products/toon-boom-studio/userstories/story/?id=PerryChen

(Toon Boom Animation: Producing a First Animated Short at 10 Years Old)

 

Perry and his mom Dr. Shen are featured in a book and parenting and youth entrepreneurship “The Parent’s Guide to Raising CEO Kids,” authored by Dr. Jerry and Sarah Cook, now available on Amazon.com:

http://www.perryspreviews.com/?p=3079

Perry is featured in the upcoming documentary film “Average Joe on the Raw” about a young man’s inspiring journey into healthy, raw food for 60 days, much like director Morgan Spurlock’s “Super Size Me,” but in a healthy direction.  The film will be completed in August 2011, Perry’s interview clip:

YouTube Preview Image

 

Perry’s National & International Media Coverage:

Perry Chen interviewed by CBS Evening News with Katie Couric Correspondent Ben Tracy, May 2009 (photo by Zhu Shen)

http://bit.ly/dbknHp (CBS Evening News with Katie Couric)

http://www.npr.org/templates/story/story.php?storyId=125236371

(NPR Liane Hansen: 10-year-old Movie Critic Becomes a Star Himself)

http://www.variety.com/article/VR1118026037.html?categoryid=4137&cs=1

(Variety: Kid Crix Grade Pix through Different Eyes, Oct 22, 2010)

http://www.perryspreviews.com/?p=2265

(Disney Pixar and DreamWorks sponsoring first ever Kids Oscar Picks contest organized by Perry’s Previews and Amazing Kids)

Perry’s Previews and Amazing Kids hosted the first Kids Oscar Picks contest to invite kids 6-17 worldwide to predict best animation Oscar. 40 kids from the US, UK, Canada, India, and Hong Kong (China) won DVDs from contest sponsors DreamWorks Animation and Disney Pixar for How to Train Your Dragon and Toy Story 3 (20 copies each).

Perry Chen interviewing Toy Story 3 director Lee Unkrich at the Academy (photo by Zhu Shen0

How to train your dragon co-directors Dean DeBlois (L) Chris Sanders (R) producer Bonnie Arnold (M) with Perry Chen at Annie Awards red carpet, Feb 5, 2011 (photo by Zhu Shen)

Watch Perry’s on-camera interview with Oscar-winning director Lee Unkrich of Toy Story 3 & Oscar-nominated directors Dean DeBlois and Chris Sanders of How to Train Your Dragon at the Academy of Motion Pictures, March 24, 2011:

http://bit.ly/hpNf1o

http://bit.ly/dLCXIY (Perry on 2011 best animation Oscar, NBC “Today in LA,” 2-13-11)

Perry Chen is represented by the Hollywood talent agency, Rebel Entertainment Partners (for LA, NY, Chicago markets): http://www.reptalent.com (Denise Draper, 323-935-1700)

And the Shamon Freitas Agency (for San Diego market): http://www.shamonfreitas.com/ (contact Carol Shamon Freitas, 619-325-1180)

His Internet Movie Database (IMDB) profile:

http://www.imdb.me/perrychen

Perry’s Chinese name is 陈彬睿 and he is a 6th grader from San Diego.  He loves reading, science, gardening, basketball, art (drawing, painting, origami, sculpture), gourmet food, making animation, and watching movies!  He is the youngest member of San Diego Press Club (http://www.sdpc.org) and Asian American Journalist Association (http://www.aaja.org).

Bill Plympton & Perry Chen discuss "Ingrid Pitt: Beyond the Forest" animation film feedback, Feb 5, 2011 (photo by Zhu Shen)

7-22-10 CW channel 6 live Beyond Forest interview (L to R Kevin Sean Michaels, Bill Plympton, Perry Chen, Zhu Shen, CW host)

 

 

Perry’s first animation short “Guard Dog Global Jam” is a fun global experiment with 74 animations worldwide, to recreate Bill Plympton’s Oscar-nominated animation short “Guard Dog”  The film is a hit with audiences around the world, and premiered at the South by Southwest (SXSW Film Festival) in March 2011.  It won “Best Experimental Film” at the ASIFA-EAST Animation Festival in May 2011, and will open the New Media Film Festival on May 20, 2011 in Los Angeles.  Perry will walk on the red carpet and meet the audience during Q&A at the premiere:

http://newmediafilmfestivaltickets-autohome.eventbrite.com/

 

http://www.perryspreviews.com/?p=2549

Perry Chen with NBC LA show host Ted Chen & Andy Adler, Feb 13, 2011 (photo by Zhu Shen)

http://bit.ly/aQQRcr

(NBC LA “Today in LA”, Oct 24, 2010)

http://bit.ly/aisGNC

(LA Talk Radio’s Film Courage Show)

Perry is the youngest blogger & film critic for Animation World Network, the leading animation industry publication with over 200,000 readers:

http://prlog.org/10595677

http://www.awn.com/blogs/perrys-previews

-Resident film critic for Amazing Kids! a non-profit organization with a monthly online magazine reaching about 1 million readers worldwide:

http://mag.amazing-kids.org/contests/amazing-kids-contests/amazing-kids-predict-the-oscars-contest/

(Amazing Kids Perrific Oscar Picks Contest, sponsored by Disney Pixar & DreamWorks Animation, 40 Winners from around the world)

http://mag.amazing-kids.org/2011/01/27/amazing-kids-perrific-2011-oscar-picks-contest-news/

http://mag.amazing-kids.org/2011/02/01/amazing-kid-of-the-month-perry-chen/

http://mag.amazing-kids.org/2010/11/24/amazing-kids-adds-perry-chen-to-staff/

http://mag.amazing-kids.org/category/ak_columns/amazing-movie-reviews/

San Diego Union Tribune, San Diego’s top newspaper with over 300,000 readers, invited Perry to join its movie panel to review G/PG-rated films in Oct 2010:

http://prlog.org/10968479

Perry is also a film & entertainment columnist for “San Diego Entertainer” magazine with over 80,000 weekly readers, reviewing movies, film festivals, restaurants, and entertainment events:

http://www.sdentertainer.com/?s=perry+chen

Perry Chen on red carpet at Annie Awards for Animation, Feb 2010 (photo by Zhu Shen)

Presenting at the Annie Awards for Animation, animation industry’s highest honor in 2010 in Hollywood, sharing the stage with host William Shatner who introduced Perry, was a great honor for him:

YouTube Preview Image

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FGv9BJcUf30

http://www.perryspreviews.com/?p=2202 (Perry Chen with How to Train Your Dragon directors/producer on red carpet at Annie Awards 2011)

Perry enjoys acting and had his first TV commercial shoot for the leading language software company Rosetta Stone in Feb, 2011 at the Balboa Park’s Japanese Garden.

Being the youngest TEDx Redmond speaker at Microsoft campus in front of over 800 attendees (mostly kids and their parents & teachers) about “For the Love of Movies” was a “Perrific!” experience at this “For Kids By Kids” conference in Sep 2010:

YouTube Preview Image

http://youtu.be/oVo4URH4ADE (Perry Chen: For the Love of Movies)

Perry was the host of wsRadio’s talk show “Perry Previews the Movies:”

http://www.wsRadio.com/perry

Perry rates movies using his trademark kid-friendly Starfish system, on a scale of 1 to 5 Starfish, 5 being the best.  The movies Perry reviews are primarily G or PG-rated, suitable for children, adults and the entire family.

Perry felt honored to interview award-winning filmmakers such as Oscar-winning director Lee Unkrich of Toy Story 3, director Pete Docter and producer Jonas Rivera of Pixar’s Up, director Davis Guggenheim of “An Inconvenient Truth” and “Waiting for Superman,” Oscar-nominated directors Dean DeBlois & Chris Sanders of DreamWorks’ “How to Train Your Dragon,” John Musker and Ron Clements of Disney’s “The Princess and the Frog,” Tomm Moore of “The Secret of Kells,”  and French animation master Michel Ocelot of “Azur & Asmar.”  Watch Perry’s filmmaker interviews on his YouTube channel:

http://www.YouTube.com/perryspreviews

“I have had an incredible journey since writing movie reviews in November 2008, with the loving encouragement of my mom and my 3rd grade teacher Ms Joli Harris.” said Perry who has been invited to attend and/or speak at numerous film festivals, Hollywood film awards, red carpet premieres, press junkets for major studio releases, school fund-raisers, educational programs, conferences, as the youngest credentialed media/film critic.

Perry was invited as a speaker at the annual San Diego International Children’s Film Festival’s VIP reception co-organized by his mom and producer Dr. Zhu Shen for the Chinese children’s film delegation who brought 9 feature children’s films from China to participate at the festival in 2009.  Perry was also invited as a film jurist in 2010 at the same festival with a new Chinese film delegation, and spoke at the awards gala:

http://www.perryspreviews.com/?p=1395

(2010 SD int’ Children’s Film Festival, Chinese delegation)

http://www.perryspreviews.com/?p=323

(2009 int’ Children’s Film Festival, Chinese delegation)

Perry won a prestigious award for 2010 “Excellence in Journalism” at the San Diego Press Club in Oct 2010, the youngest winner in the awards’ history:

http://prlog.org/10968395

became the youngest honoree of the Cox Communications Asian Heritage Month in 2010:

http://prlog.org/10691739

Won Vic Kops Children’s Challenge Award:

http://prlog.org/10691653

Won an “Excellent Writer for We Chinese” for his movie review column in January 2010:

http://prlog.org/10477879

and four art awards at the

-San Diego County Fair, First Place, 2010 and 2009

-San Diego City Hall Children’s Art Show, October 2009

-San Diego International Art & Music Festival, January 2010

“I enjoy watching family movies with my parents. They are great for parents who want to watch movies and spend quality time with their kids.” said Perry, “Kids’ voice is important to be heard because we are the target audience of most animation films and other family-friendly G/PG-rated films.  I hope a lot of parents will watch many wonderful movies with their children and talk to them about the movies after reading my reviews. I would love to hear your feedback about movies and my reviews.”

Thank you for visiting and hope you enjoyed Perry’s reviews! Check back often for new reviews, upcoming events, contest, FREE press screening passes giveaways!  Send your comments by posting on Perry’s blog, and/or email: perryspreviews at gmail dot com

Become a Facebook Fan and invite your friends:

http://www.facebook.com/perryspreviewsfan

http://www.facebook.com/ingridpittanimation

For media and business inquiries, please contact Perry’s mom & Producer/Editor of Perry’s Previews, Dr. Zhu Shen: bioforesight at gmail dot com

Click on pen to Use a Highlighter on this page
Share

Readers Comments

  1. Mrs. Prince says:

    Hi Perry!
    It was good to hear from your Mom on Sunday. I had fun watching you on the news! You’ve grown up so much… I’ll be watching your up dates on your web site. I would love to see your recent artwork sometime. I still have several drawings of your animals that I’ve saved from the art studio when you were three years old. I can’t believe you’re 9yrs!

    Take care Perry,

    Jeannette Prince

  2. peter liu says:

    Hi Perry
    I love your movie reviews.I wonder what movie review is coming out next.

  3. Kelly Brown says:

    Hi, interest post. I’ll write you later about few questions!

  4. Perry says:

    Hi Peter,
    Thanks for coming to my party! The next movie I will review is “The Ice Age III: Dawn of the Dinosaurs” which will open July 1. I’ll be on Fox 5 TV to review, and my review will also be on my website and “We Chinese in America”

  5. Perry says:

    Thanks, please send your questions!

  6. Perry says:

    Hi Mrs. Prince,

    Thanks and great to hear from you! How time flies! My mom has saved over 1000 of my drawings/paintings since I was three, and recently had them scanned. My art teacher would like to get some of them published!

    We’ll have you over this summer.

    Love,

    Perry

  7. JaneRadriges says:

    Hi, very nice post. I have been wonder’n bout this issue,so thanks for posting

  8. Hi, interest post. I’ll write you later about few questions!

  9. Perry says:

    Thanks, Katty, please send your questions! My next review is for “Night at the Museum 2: Battle of the Smithsonian”, coming out this Friday.

    Are you in China?

    Perry

  10. GarykPatton says:

    How soon will you update your blog? I’m interested in reading some more information on this issue.

  11. Perry says:

    Hi Gary- Thanks for your interest. The blog is updated whenever I have a new movie review, press coverage, upcoming event (with confirmed dates). My next blog will appear this Friday, when my review on “Night at the Museum 2: Battle of the Smithsonian” is published.

    Stay tuned… You can also follow me on Twitter:
    http://twitter.com/perryspreviews

  12. CrisBetewsky says:

    It’s a pity that people don’t realize the importance of this information. Thanks for posing it.

  13. CrisBetewsky says:

    I’m glad that after surfing the web for uch a long time I have found out this information. I’m really lucky.

  14. Hello. I think the article is really interesting. I am even interested in reading more. How soon will you update your blog?

  15. jessica d. says:

    hi when you’re 13 will you plan to rate
    PG-13 movies?

  16. Perry says:

    Hi Jessica- it’s a very long time before I turn 13! I will rate PG-13 movies if I’m still into watching movies then…

  17. znak says:

    Thanks for post

  18. coop says:

    I recently came across your blog and have been reading along. I thought I would leave my first comment. I don’t know what to say except that I have enjoyed reading. Nice blog. I will keep visiting this blog very often.

  19. Perry says:

    Thanks for your nice comment, let me know how you enjoy the movies! -Perry

  20. Perry says:

    Thanks, glad you like my reviews, please share your thoughts about films often! -Perry

  21. Susan says:

    Yay, this one is my favorite!!! I love it! 😀

  22. Perry says:

    Thanks, Susan! Congrats on your own great success! Please share your favorite G/PG films with us.
    -Perry & mom (Zhu Shen)

  23. Helana says:

    Hi Perry,

    I grew up in Carmel Valley my whole life and am now in college but it’s so exciting to see such talent come from CV! Congratulations on everything and I’ll be checking out your blog more often in the near future!!

    – Helana Zhang

  24. Kevin Wang says:

    I knew you!We went to Golden Dragon together and you even sat on my car once when we delivered you home! And to think that with all the rumors that you would turn into a sensation like this!

  25. Perry says:

    Hi Kevin,
    Nice to hear from you, are you still going to Golden Dragon now? Hope you’re doing great…

    If you have watched any of the movies I reviewed, pl send you comments about how you like the films and my reviews, would really appreciate that!

    You can become my Facebook fan if interested, I send new movie reviews/special events regularly:

    http://tinyurl.com/3aktsmu

    Cheers,

    Perry Chen

  26. Mallory says:

    Hey this is my first time on your website but i think it is really cool.

  27. Perry says:

    Thanks Mallory, glad you enjoy my website, come back and visit often!

    Perry Chen

  28. sonsoles says:

    hey perry. hey i know im in ur class and all but i did not know that u had ur own website any way bye

  29. Perry says:

    thanks 4 visiting

  30. Perry says:

    Hi Helena,
    Thanks for your kind words! Hope to meet you someday. Do you still visit Carmel Valley sometimes?

    -Perry Chen

  31. […] Perry Chen, a prodigious eleven-year-old from San Diego, is quite the Hollywood darling. A natural with a pen and stylus, his freehand drawings populate the six-minute animation, Ingrid Pitt: Beyond the Forest, which debuted at this year’s Comic-Con. […]

  32. […] Contributor Perry Chen and Zhu Shen are a unique son-mother team of talent and aspirations. Perry Chen is the youngest award-winning film/ entertainment critic & animator, artist, speaker, and […]

  33. […] Chen and Zhu Shen are a unique son-mother team of talent and aspirations. Perry Chen is the youngest award-winning film/ entertainment critic & animator, artist, speaker, and […]

  34. […] Valley San Diego community residents and are a unique son-mother team of talent and aspirations. Perry Chen is the youngest award-winning film/ entertainment critic & animator, artist, speaker, and […]

  35. […] Valley San Diego community residents and are a unique son-mother team of talent and aspirations. Perry Chen is the youngest award-winning film/ entertainment critic & animator, artist, speaker, and […]

  36. […] Valley San Diego community residents and are a unique son-mother team of talent and aspirations. Perry Chen is the youngest award-winning film/ entertainment critic & animator, artist, speaker, and […]

  37. […] Valley San Diego community residents and are a unique son-mother team of talent and aspirations. Perry Chen is the youngest award-winning film/ entertainment critic & animator, artist, speaker, and […]

  38. […] Valley San Diego community residents and are a unique son-mother team of talent and aspirations. Perry Chen is the youngest award-winning film/ entertainment critic & animator, artist, speaker, and […]

  39. […] Valley San Diego community residents and are a unique son-mother team of talent and aspirations. Perry Chen is the youngest award-winning film/ entertainment critic & animator, artist, speaker, and […]

  40. […] Valley San Diego community residents and are a unique son-mother team of talent and aspirations. Perry Chen is the youngest award-winning film/ entertainment critic & animator, artist, speaker, and […]

  41. […] Valley San Diego community residents and are a unique son-mother team of talent and aspirations. Perry Chen is the youngest award-winning film/ entertainment critic & animator, artist, speaker, and […]

  42. Hey I am so glad I found your site, I really found you by
    error, while I was researching on Askjeeve for
    something else, Nonetheless I am here now and would just like to say thanks
    for a remarkable post and a all round thrilling blog (I also love the
    theme/design), I don’t have time to browse it
    all at the minute but I have bookmarked it and
    also added in your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be
    back to read a great deal more, Please do keep up the superb work.




Please note: Comment moderation is enabled and may delay your comment. There is no need to resubmit your comment.

Slideshow


Warning: Unknown: open(/home/content/36/3968236/tmp/sess_idtb3vg6f3gcuu8ladep8p5u70, O_RDWR) failed: No such file or directory (2) in Unknown on line 0

Warning: Unknown: Failed to write session data (files). Please verify that the current setting of session.save_path is correct () in Unknown on line 0